Why I Eat as Healthy as Possible

People often used to ask me why I eat as healthy as I do.
And I think that until you feel so uncomfortable in your body, in so much pain and really struggling every day, that you are so desperate to try anything, you don’t really understand why anyone would be really particular with their food intake.

I used to have such painful knee and elbow joints. I couldn’t even go to the movies and sit there with bent knees as it hurt too much. I had to sleep with straight arms and legs to avoid pain, and to top it off I had insomnia or would sleep walk.
My skin was all blotchy and red, with acne marks and pigmentation.
My digestive system was not working properly and I had constipation.
I still actually get small patches of eczema but at least I know how my triggers(for me it’s gluten and high amounts of stress).

Thankfully I found a way of eating that helped my body heal itself. It is so liberating and energising to feel healthy and I definitely do not want to go back to feeling that way, so I continue to eat a really healthy plant-based diet.
Of course I have ‘soul-food’ every now and again where I might have some bread or normal chocolate cake etc, but the next day I continue eating healthy, and I have extra digestive enzymes and green powders just to flush it out my system. I find that if you become too restrictive it can lead to eating disorders and obsessions, which is a topic for another post.

There is a saying that goes “Nothing tastes as good as good health feels” and as someone who has been in pain, I completely agree.

3 thoughts on “Why I Eat as Healthy as Possible

Leave a comment